Latest issue

Vol. 59, No. 3 (September 2020)
View the Articles

The Deescalating Effect of Unsettled Borders on Enduring Territorial Disputes: An Analysis on the 2017 Doklam Standoff

Ping-Kuei Chen

  States often make coercive threats by showing or threatening to use military force during territorial disputes. Disputants may be mired in intense military standoff if no parties would stand down in a dispute. The tense situation may escalate into armed conflicts. This article examines military standoff short of the use of force. It presents two variables that could alleviate military standoff. First, disputants will take measures to manage their conflict behavior when repeated conflicts yield no clear resolution to a territorial dispute. Such measures aim to avoid accidents that contribute to further escalation. Second, unsettled border or territories serve as a buffer zone for the use of force. The show of force or signaling military threat becomes a frequent event accepted by both disputants. They do not deem military confrontation in the disputed territory as an immediate security challenge or threat. They will, therefore, prevent further deterioration of a military standoff and avoid the escalation of armed conflicts. Disputants lack incentives to escalate the use of force to capture a piece of territory that has been subjected to dispute for a long time. Military coercion usually aims at signaling and defending the disputant’s claim on the sovereignty of the disputed territory. Therefore, disputants are likely to constrain the level of armed conflicts. Hence, this paper examines the military standoff between Chinese and Indian armies in Doklam in the year 2017, and shows that the variables above contribute to the peaceful resolution of the standoff..

Keywords: military standoff, Sino-Indian relations, fixed borders, territorial disputes, buffer zone


China’s Position, Attitude, and Action on Conflict Prevention: A Comparative Study on the Issue of the South China Sea and the South Sudan Crisis

Wen-Chih Cha

  The main research questions of the paper are as follow: first of all, what are China’s position, attitude, and actions in conflict prevention, second question is what is the difference between China’s action and statement on the issue of the South China Sea dispute and the South Sudan Crisis when China is one of the parties who faces sovereignty and national interest, and as a third-party in the practice of conflict prevention. Third question is why China is willing to change her position from insisting bilateral dialogue to agreeing to multilateral mechanism as an approach to deal with dispute between China and ASEAN states in the conflict of South China Sea. Final question is what does this “bilateral-multilateral” mixed approach reflect on what kind of “Chinese characteristic” in the conflict prevention mechanism.

  The main research findings are as follow: first of all, in the case of South Sudan, the Chinese government uses the UN as a core and platform to intervene in the South Sudan crisis with a multi-way and a creative model. The creative model gives the Chinese government space to intervene in the internal affairs of other countries to prevent crisis. Although China emphasizes the United Nations as a core and platform, as well as not intervening in the internal affairs of other countries as a principal through multilateral mechanism to prevent conflict, the Chinese government still takes different positions and perform actions to the sovereignty disputes in South China Sea when China faces conflict with the other states in her core national interest in this area. China stresses that this is a bilateral issue and opposes UN and international organization’s intervention in the conflict of SCS. Besides, China expresses that she is willing to resolve the dispute peacefully and discusses the code of conduct on South China Sea under the framework of ASEAN. The contradiction of China’s position against internationalization in the SCS issue through multilateralism approach and discussion under ASEAN multi-operation mechanism is a result of concept difference, and is essentially a conflict prevention mechanism between west countries and ASEAN. Member states have high flexibility response to conclusion of the meeting and comply with the conclusion voluntarily, while stressing “state centrality” and “sovereignty first” under the ASEAN method. All these characteristics of the ASEAN method give China confidence to participate in the ASEAN multilateral mechanism without attention to the violation of China’s territory and sovereignty, as well as they consolidate her goal of sovereignty and territory integrity with her interference in the framework of the ASEAN.

Keywords: China, ASEAN, South China Sea, conflict prevention, South Sudan


The President's Choice of Timing for Arms Sales to Taiwan: An Analysis of the Executive Branch’s Notification to Congress for Review

Wei-hua Chen

  Since the United States switched diplomatic recognition from Taipei to Beijing, the U.S arms sales to Taiwan have been a critical issue affecting the Cross-Strait relations for the past 40 years. In order to preserve stability in the Taiwan Strait, maintaining sufficient self-defense capability for Taiwan has been the major goal of the United States. However, the U.S security commitment to Taiwan has long been fluctuating between security interests and democratic reputation. It also depends on the stance of the executive branch and of the Congress. This article starts from the theoretical perspective of foreign policy analysis (FPA) and uses the presidential decision-making mechanism as an analysis unit to discuss the U.S president’s dominant role in the arms sales to Taiwan. Based on the three explanatory variables of the President’s term of office - the leader’s “threat perceptions,” the type of governments in presidential systems, and the executive-legislative relationship, the article examines U.S presidents’ choices on the timing of their consideration to make announcements of arms sales to Taiwan and “notifications to Congress for review.” This article further analyzes the considerations of President George W. Bush’s and President Obama ’s arms sales to Taiwan at different stages. Hopefully this paper will provide a better understanding of important factors that influence decision making of arms sales to Taiwan.

Keywords: Presidential decision-making mechanism, US Arms Sales to Taiwan, U.S.-Taiwan relations, U.S.-China relations, Congressional Review Process


Is Treaty-making a Way of Decolonization?: Learning from Australia’s Treaty Debates

Morgan Chih-Tung Huang

  In 2016, President Ing-wen Tsai apologized to the Taiwanese indigenous peoples on behalf of the government, which is known as the National Apology. Echoing this National Apology, the Council of Indigenous Peoples reaffirmed its proposal called the “substantive negotiation process”. Before long, this innovative treaty-making provision opened a debate on whether or not such process can really fit in with Taiwan’s current constitutional and legal system. As a way to move forward, this article attempts to scrutinize similar treaty debates in Australia. In doing so, it has become more clear that treaty-making, (indigenous) sovereignty, and the Constitution are not separate issues, but rather, a connected one. As treaty forms the basic relationships between government/state and indigenous peoples, the debate itself is about the fundamental question of power-sharing and decolonization. Given that the government often treats treaty-making as a way of legitimatizing its power, this article cautions that indigenous peoples must stay alert to the possible harms of treaty-making. There is always a danger that buying into coloniser’s concept, i.e. treaty or sovereignty, could sink the whole indigenous struggle into the frameworks of the settler’s/state’s logic.

Keywords:Treaty, Indigenous Peoples, Sovereignty, Constitutional Recognition, Decolonization

最新期刊

第 59 卷・第 3 期
發行於 2020年9月
點我看期刊內容

論未定疆界對持續領土爭端的衝突緩和作用:以2017中印洞朗對峙為例

陳秉逵

  國家間發生領土爭端時,常以展現或威脅使用軍事力量為主要威逼手段,若爭端國互不相讓,往往會陷入緊張的軍事對峙,隨時可能升級為全面武裝衝突。本文檢視此類不實際動武的軍事對峙,並提出兩個因素可有助緩和軍事對峙。首先,反覆僵持的爭端使雙方主動管理對峙行為,避免容易造成衝突升級的意外;再者,未定邊界或領土為雙方使用武力的緩衝地帶,針對爭議領土展示或威脅使用武力變成可理解的經常事件,對爭端國而言,爭議區域的武裝對峙或軍事行動不被視為立即的挑戰或威脅,衝突方傾向避免對峙惡化而升級為全面武裝衝突,即使發生武裝衝突,也可能侷限於爭端地區。在長年有爭端的地區,爭端國缺乏升級武力奪取領土的動機,武力威逼的目的在於表達並捍衛對領土歸屬的立場,因此雙方都有意限制衝突的規模。本文以2017年解放軍與印度軍隊在洞朗地區的軍事對峙為例,以上述因素探討該事件得以和平落幕的因素,未來中印類似的邊界軍事紛爭升級。


  關鍵詞:軍事對峙、洞朗事件、中印關係、爭議領土、緩衝帶


中國大陸在衝突預防上的立場、態度與作為:作為第三方與當事國之間的比較

趙文志

  本文主要研究問題是:中國大陸對於衝突預防的原則性立場與態度為何?在身為當事國與第三方行為者兩種不同身分時,其在實踐上有何不同?本文藉由南蘇丹危機與南海衝突兩個案例分析中國大陸在衝突預防實踐上,面對事關自身主權與國家利益以及與自身主權無關之衝突事件時,在衝突預防作為上有何差異?其宣示與實際作為有何落差?此外,為何中國大陸在南海議題上,會由堅持雙邊對話,轉變為也同意透過多邊機制,作為處理南海主權爭議途徑的立場與作為?在這樣的雙邊與多邊機制下,呈現出怎樣的「中國特色」衝突預防機制也是本文欲探討的研究問題。

 本文的主要研究發現,在南蘇丹案例上,中國大陸作為第三者身分時,透過聯合國為平台,以多邊形式介入南蘇丹衝突當中,同時透過所謂「創造性介入」的方式為不干涉內政原則找到介入他國的空間,進行相關衝突預防的作為;而在南海案例上,中國大陸雖然在國際衝突預防事件上,強調以聯合國維核心,以不干涉內政為原則,同時須透過多邊機制來進行衝突預防工作,但在面對關於自身核心利益時,由南海領土主權爭議的案例顯示,中國大陸卻採取不同的立場與作為。中國大陸更擴張性解釋傳統不干涉原則,強調南海領土爭議是雙邊問題,反對聯合國與國際組織的介入與仲裁,不希望南海問題國際化,這與其在聯合國立場並不太相符合。與此同時,中國大陸也強調願意以和平方式處理與解決南海爭端,並在東協架構下與東協討論南海行為準則。中國大陸這種反對多邊與國際化南海議題,卻又願意參與東協機制下對於南海議題討論的立場,則是由於東協運作機制以及對於預防外交的運作原則,與西方概念和實質內涵並不相同,其給予個別成員回應高度彈性,且達成共識之結論並不具強制性;再加上以國家為中心、主權至上的原則,讓中國大陸參與東協多邊機制,一方面不需擔心領土主權因此受到傷害,另一方面可以借助其影響力,在東協框架下,鞏固其主權與領土完整的目標。

  關鍵詞:中國大陸、東協、南海、衝突預防 、南蘇丹


美國總統公布對臺軍售的時機選擇:行政部門通知國會審查的分析

陳偉華

  自我國與美國斷交後,過去40年來,美國政府對臺軍售始終為美國作為兩岸關係第三方影響的重要課題,亦為在兩岸間「衝突預防」的政策工具。美國對於臺灣的安全承諾,長期擺盪在安全利益與民主聲譽之間,亦根源於行政部門和國會之間的立場分野。有別於過去的分析途徑,本文從外交政策分析(FPA)的理論視角切入,以總統決策機制為分析單元,討論美國總統在對臺軍售決策機制中究竟扮演的關鍵角色,以總統任期、領導人安全觀及府會結構三項解釋變數,檢視歷屆美國總統對於公布軍售和「通知國會審查」的時機選擇,系統性觀測當中的變異現象。本文進一步分析小布希與歐巴馬總統在任期內不同階段對臺軍售的考量因素,進行追蹤比較,期望可以從美國總統決策視角,釐清美國對臺軍售的主要影響變數。

  關鍵詞:總統決策機制、對臺軍售、中美關係、臺美關係、國會審查


道歉後的制度性安排:澳洲條約機制引進對我國之啟發

黃之棟

  2016年8月1原住民族日當天,蔡英文總統代表政府正式向原住民族道歉。自此之後,臺灣的原住民族政策便邁入了新頁。在眾多後續討論中,原住民族自治議題尤其受到族人與各界的關注。對此,現階段政府的規劃,是希望參酌美加紐等國經驗,透過「實質談判程序機制」來達到自治。此方案近似於前述原住民族先進國所採取的「條約模式」,也就是透過原住民族和國家(中央、地方政府)協商談判並簽訂協定的方式,來確認進而規範兩者間的關係。面對此一嶄新的方案,各界的討論卻相對有限。無獨有偶地,近來澳洲也對條約機制的引進,展開了一系列的討論。有鑑於此,本文擬從該國對相關機制的思索乃至論辯出發,希望以此來作為未來我國制度規劃時的借鏡與反省。整體來說,條約制度的引進必然會觸及既有憲政架構的更動乃至主權議題,這也使得相關討論會涉及理論論證與法制磨合。由於這些議題具備高度政治性,故也相當敏感。對此,作者嘗試從政策學習與制度磨合的角度出發,嘗試以憲法肯認、條約、原住民族主權三位一體的理解,來捕捉澳洲對相關議題的討論。除此之外,由於條約機制實務上經常被用來作為國家正當化其權力來源的工具,故作者也對引進此制度可能的限制進行分析。

  關鍵詞:條約、原住民族、主權、憲法肯認、去殖民